The Most Important Question to Answer in Learning (Part 2 of 2)

In my last post I discussed the value of answering the “why” question in the process of teaching and learning. Today I have a video for you to view that I believe will drive the point home.

The Golden Circle
The Golden Circle (Photo credit: Gavin Llewellyn)

A while back I was sent a video that so intrigued me with its message that I try to view it at least once per month to keep its principles in my mind. The video comes from the Technology, Entertainment, Design (TED) website and is hosted by Mr. Simon Sinek.

The title of the workshop is How Great Leaders Inspire Action. His simple idea that resonated within me was his presentation of the Golden Circle.

I found Sinek’s workshop to be both inspiring and thought-provoking. There is a catch though. You need to view this through the lens of an educator with the topic of answering the “why” question fresh on your mind. The reason is that the purpose of this video is more leadership-oriented than education-oriented.  Yet I was astounded, though, with how closely Sinek’s message mirrored the concept of answering the “why” question for a classroom setting. And not only that, but it added much that helped my own thoughts as it related to the learning process.

Enjoy the video and then be sure to take some time to reflect on its message. How can it be interpreted to be an effective resource for your teaching and learning? More to come in future posts.

Simon Sinek: How Great Leaders Inspire Action

Reflection: So what helpful elements did you find in the video that could assist you in being more effective as an educator? How can the Golden Circle message be integrated into a classroom?

2 thoughts on “The Most Important Question to Answer in Learning (Part 2 of 2)

Please Leave a Reply

