Feedly Meets My Reading Need-ly

One emphasis in my posts that I like to hammer home is that if you are an educator you must also be a reader. And by reader, I mean reading scholarship within the field of teaching, articles on techniques, and blogs on pedagogy.

One area that I am finding more and more beneficial is subscribing to other’s blog posts or receiving updated news feeds from my favorite websites. But one problem that I have experienced is keeping track of new posts that came my way. How do you keep them organized for future reading?

Image: Flickr/AJ Cann
Image: Flickr/AJ Cann

Enter Feedly, the nifty news and blog aggregator by DevHD. I recently came across this tool and have found it to have great value. Simple to use and great functionality! If you have never used an app such as this, it basically allows you to view on a single web page all of your favorite blog posts or news feeds that you enjoy accessing. I have four reasons why you should use Feedly. In a nutshell, Feedly will…

  • organize all your favorite blog feeds or news posts on one web page.
  • organize your feeds by category so that you can select specific types of blog posts or articles to read. For example, I have categories such as “Education,” “Leadership,” and “Creativity.”
  • easily manage which feeds you wish to read or not read on a given day.
  • allow you to only see feeds which have been sent to you “today” or see all feeds which have not been read yet.

Why is Feedly helpful? Because I used to subscribe to my favorite feeds via rss and email and it became a nuisance to try to keep track of what I wanted to read or what I wanted to comment on.

Using Feedly, I no longer get emails telling me when a new post has arrived. I simply can check Feedly at my leisure. And I can save posts for later or “mark as read” entire categories. Easy tool to use and easy to setup as well.

Simply go to your favorite blog or news feed and copy the URL. Go to Feedly and find the “Add Content” option on the left. Paste your URL into the search box and select “enter.” Once options come up, select your choice and the category and you are good to go. Each day from there on out, Feedly will only show on your personal Feedly page whatever feeds have new posts .

I have been using this tool for a couple of weeks and love it. And if you are looking for some good starters in keeping up to speed on educational topics, here are three of my favorites:

So check out Feedly! You will be glad you did. I close this post with a reflection from H. G. Wells:

I had just taken to reading.  I had just discovered the art of leaving my body to sit impassive in a crumpled up attitude in a chair or sofa, while I wandered over the hills and far away in novel company and new scenes…  My world began to expand very rapidly,… the reading habit had got me securely.

So simplify your reading world with Feedly and let the reading habit get you securely.

Community Input: So do you use any other feed aggregators that help you be a more prolific reader?

4 thoughts on “Feedly Meets My Reading Need-ly

  1. This looks like a neat tool. I’ll have to look into it. For the most part, I just have a jumbled collection of bookmarks on my browser. Something like this would help me get organized.

    Also, thanks for the shout out. I’m glad you find the posts at Teaching & Learning in Higher Ed. worth following!


    Paul T. Corrigan
    Teaching & Learning in Higher Ed.

    • I have totally bought into this tool as it will clean up the “jumbled collection” you have. And it allows me to not have to deal with updates through email but check Feedly when I want to. Easy tool…lots of utility.

      And yes, have enjoyed your website. Plan to push it at my faculty in-service in a few weeks. Many won’t take the time to read a lot of books but will invest in short blog posts. I’ll take what I can get! 🙂

  2. I hope the in-service goes well. It’s be great if some of the folks do check out the site. Also, you might tell your colleagues that they don’t need to read a lot of books. If they just read one book a year on teaching and learning, then, after a decade, they’ll have read about a dozen more such books than most college teachers.


    Paul T. Corrigan
    Teaching & Learning in Higher Ed.

    • Amen to that! Reading is SUCH a must for teachers. That is one benefit that I appreciated from getting my doctorate was the amount of reading that had to be done. It really gave me a thirst for being knowledgeable in this field of education. I grow weary of those who think they do not need to read the scholarship because they are content experts. And we both know content experts do not necessarily translate to expert teachers. Thanks for commenting on my post! Appreciated…

Please Leave a Reply

