You Are Only One…But You Are One [Quote]

I will admit that in my world of teaching, I can get so bogged down in what is not going on that I can easily overlook the power of one. One teacher. One student. One life transformed.And so today I offer a simple yet profound quote from author Edward Everett Hale:

I am only one, but I am one. I cannot do everything, but I can do something. And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do.

More money, more resources, and more time would provide a certain motivation and freshness, I suppose. But I must never forget that though I may be only one teacher, I am one teacher, and this one life can and ought to intentionally seek out one life each day to touch. Never minimize what your life or my life can do in the classroom for one student.

Set aside disappointment and the lofty expectations of this day and embrace the “I can do something” mantra. And then actually do something. And see a life touched.

8 thoughts on “You Are Only One…But You Are One [Quote]

  1. Thanks, Dr. Goyak! This was a great encouragement and reminder to me today. Also, I am going to pass it on to one of my co-workers as an encouragement to them. I always enjoy reading your posts and learn a great deal from them.

  2. Awesome! This is a great reminder to focus and do something! God has given us this day as an opportunity to pour into our students-to make a difference in their lives. If we only reach one today, what an accomplishment that will be!

    My goal: pour into my students today and reach at least one: Show them a changed life and present a clear Gospel message.

    Thanks for this today. I’ll be sharing with this post with my colleagues–give everyone a boost today!

    • Thanks for commenting, Vicki, and your great enthusiasm. I get tired and my educational thoughts get lost in the “what has not happened for the day.” Each interaction given by God, though. is an opportunity for transformation – the difficult piece is that we are not always able to see the “fruit” until much later. Thanks for what you are doing in the classroom!

  3. I sent out an email to my colleagues with this post. I’ve already received three responses and it’s just now lunch time. So people may be just getting to read emails. Your words are being a blessing to many! Thanks!

    Even the head of maintenance commented that he wished he had taken that approach every day while he’s been working here.

    I know we don’t see the fruit of our labors many times, and yet, there are those who contact us many years later -still remembering that geometry class back in high school, when something said or done impacted them for good for life. God has us pour into our students “for such a time as this” and He’s in charge of the increase. Keep going!

    • Exactly – we are just commissioned to plant and water. My love for a student, unconditionally I might add, is what is going to draw them in for influence. And thank you for passing this post along. I am glad to hear it was well received.

      Thank you again for your comments!

Please Leave a Reply

