Why Change Is Sometimes Necessary in Our Lives

Change is difficult. And whether we wanted the change or it was thrust upon us, there are now new forests with new trails that are just not familiar. And it can feel hard to get in our “groove.”

Photo courtesy of Salvatore Vuono | FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Photo courtesy of Salvatore Vuono | FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Do you remember the movie from 2000 called The Emperor’s New Groove? Still makes me laugh. There is one scene that is really funny to me. Pacha, the peasant, is going to see the emperor. On his way, he encounters a man.

Pacha: What happened?

Man: Well, I threw off the Emperor’s groove.

Pacha: What?

Man: His groove! The rhythm in which he lives his life. His pattern of behavior. I threw it off. And the Emperor had me thrown out the window.

Pacha: Oh, really? I’m supposed to see him today.

Man: Don’t throw off his groove!

Pacha: Oh, okay.

Man: Bewaaare, the grooove.

Pacha: Hey, are you gonna be all right?

Man: Grooove…

To be honest, I feel like God has thrown off my groove, and you know what? I am extremely grateful. As I mentioned in a prior post, I have been in a state of transition with my job. For 11 years, I was at a college where, for the last five years, I was in administration as the vice president of academics. Some good years. God ended that journey and now has me serving as the executive pastor at the church we are attending. Big change…

God changed my direction, changed my heart, and changed my pursuits. The crazy thing now is I really feel like I have hit my niche. I love my new role and the people I get to share life with each day. 

Perhaps you are facing change in your life. As I have been facing my own, it has influenced me in three ways:

  1. It forced me to take stock of what was really valued by me and what drives the DNA of who I am.
  2. It allowed me to drop a lot of things by the wayside that I had just picked up, never contemplating if I really needed them in my “travels.” In other words, it removed cluttered thinking.
  3. It allowed God to refocus me on the purpose of my entire existence.

For years I have been an educator and saw myself doing the same after leaving the college at which I was employed. But God knew different. And it is changing my thinking. In fact, it is altering the purpose for which I write this blog. Being an executive pastor now, education is still a great passion, but I see it as one of many tools in my tool belt at this new juncture.

The result? I see this blog broadening from not only education, but to additional topics that pique my interest, such as leadership, influence, mentoring, team building – all under the umbrella of how the Gospel shapes each of these. Because the truth is that I cannot separate the Gospel from who I am or what I do. It changes everything

Hopefully this will be viewed as a positive shift as I post about seeing life through a slightly wider lens. And let me know what topics you might like to see that would help you be more effective in your calling.

Change can be difficult, but change can breathe new life into you.

4 thoughts on “Why Change Is Sometimes Necessary in Our Lives

  1. Congrats on finding the new position that God has for you. As an educator, I have enjoyed the challenges you have posted. But as a Christian, I am challenged anew regularly in many areas, and will be intrigued to see how God leads you in this blog in the future.

    Four years ago, I switched from one ministry to another Christian school. I too have found that change helps me to grow. This year many things are changing in the school in which I teach, so I anticipate watching how God will transform my life in a new and fresh manner. Hope you will enjoy as he transforms you as well.

    • Vicki – thanks so much for your comment. I am finding with this change that He is putting me right where I desired to really be…I just did not know it. He got me on board with His plan in His timing. The waiting was worth it.

Please Leave a Reply

