The Necessity of Leading With WOW! Experiences

They got it. And they convinced me that it was not a one-time experience but rather a culture.

I experienced the WOW! last week.

WOW!

I use a web-based app called Buffer that allows me to schedule out my blog posts across multiple social media platforms. It is a nifty tool that has taken the headache out of remembering to have to post on a certain date or repost at a certain time.

Then all of a sudden it was not working like it had in the past. And though not monumental within the grand narrative of life, I was still frustrated as a customer.

My WOW! experience

And so I contacted the customer support at Buffer and emailed my problem. I was pleasantly surprised when I received a response within just a couple of hours from Mary at Buffer. And she seemed eager to assist me.

Hey there Antone,

So sorry for the trouble here! Would you possibly be up for…[options].

And I was given a few solutions to try. Unfortunately nothing seemed to work. In my user mindset, I really just needed the problem fixed and did not have a lot of time to spend in problem resolution. And so I went out to the web and google’d other online apps that would be able to meet my needs.

And I found one, signed up, and thought “Problem solved…check!”

In the meantime, the customer support team and I kept corresponding as Mary would suggest other alternatives for me to try.

Hey there Antone,

Thanks for walking me through this! It sounds like we might be hitting restrictions on repeat content. [Other options given]. So sorry about this Antone.

Ok, I had a new app available online and felt like my issue was resolved, but I appreciated the fact that a customer support person from Buffer was genuinely trying to help me. Sometimes “So sorry about this.” means “Sorry you cannot get this resolved – have a nice day.” and other times “So sorry about this.” means “I feel your pain and I am going to continue to work with you to give you what you need.”

Buffer’s support team gave me the latter of the two. And to be honest, I felt like we had a customer/service rep relationship that gave me hope that maybe I was actually valuable as a user.

Mary then suggested an option that I was not familiar with and I asked if there was any documentation she could point me to.

At this point, Kelly from support jumped in.

Hey there Antone!

Kelly jumping in here. Great question! We could be a bit more clear about this on our end. Thanks for the nudge.

[Explanation given].

If you have any other questions at all as you use Buffer, or any snags come up along the way, please don’t hesitate to reach out. We’re here for you, Antone!

And so I tried the suggested option and Bam! Back in business. And so I thanked Kelly for her help and that the universe was back in order.

Woohoo! Awesome stuff, Antone! So glad to hear the tutorial is helpful (I’m a visual learner myself, so I like to share videos/screenshots whenever possible!) Let us know if you have any other questions at all as you use Buffer, or run into any snags down the way. We’re here for you and glad to help!

Have an amazing rest of your day, Antone!

Needless to say, I am still using Buffer and have ditched the other option. How could I not when I received this kind of experience?

I was compelled to share this this morning and remind us that, as leaders, this is the type of culture we need to create in the places in which we have influence.

I believe it is a necessity because it we are not careful, we can settle into the blah or mediocre. Not a negative experience mind you, just one that feels neutral and does not demand a “WOW! Listen to what just happened to me!” type of interaction.

And so here are four reasons that it is a necessity to lead with WOW! encounters.

We are called to it

Sorry, but as a believer in the Gospel, leading with WOW! experiences should be part of the new work going on within me by the Holy Spirit.

But thanks be to God, who in Christ always leads us in triumphal procession, and through us spreads the fragrance of the knowledge of him everywhere. (2 Corinthians 2:14)

Every interchange between me and another provides me with an opportunity for fragrance-ing another. And my actions or my response are helping that person form an opinion about God, because after all, I am a servant to the King and I represent His culture and identity.

It keeps people coming back

The only reason I continued the conversation with Mary and Kelly is because they kept suggesting new options for me to try. I was truly convinced that their satisfaction was in my satisfaction. Isn’t that an awesome quality? Sometimes I go into the megatron superstores and feel like I am irritating them because I have a question.

In today’s economy, there are many entities that provide the same product and the only differentiator is how they engage me as a customer, i.e. service. Are they taught from the top management that they exist for the customer and not the other way around? If so, awesome. You now have me as a customer for life. Otherwise, I do not care who I go with. I’ll just look for the “Free Shipping!” option.

You do not drift into this type of culture

I am convinced that Mary and Kelly were taught this type of service and that it is a culture that permeates Buffer. One does not simply drift into this type of culture. I do not feel as if I just happened to get the one good rep that Buffer employs. I got WOW! experiences from two different people and their tone and aura conveyed to me care, concern, and a “let’s get this resolved for you.” mentality.

And I really valued that. It tells me that this is probably not an isolated experience. The leadership values this and they make sure it overflows to all of the levels below and around them.

Buffer may have had an issue with their product that I experienced but I’ll tell you what – I’m not looking around for another app for my blog posts.

WOW! experiences even when you get nothing in return

Let me add one more piece to this puzzle: I am using the free version of this app and not the paid Pro version. Meaning, this group is not getting revenue from me as their free version of their app meets my present needs.

That alone speaks volumes to me. In an age of “I’ll do for you if you do for me.” it is not common to see outstanding service when there really is not much at stake. Meaning, if they lost me as a customer, they are not losing anything that really affects their bottom line.

But they provided me with a WOW! experience anyway. And do you know what that says to me? It says that they value relationships with people and not just making sure their product gets in the limelight.

People over product. Relationships over results.

I really believe that a WOW! mentality is what we are called to as Christians. In the spirit of “do all to the glory of God” I see providing WOW! experiences as a means to open doors to deeper and more meaningful conversation. At the very least, the person or people are able to come away with a better view of serving, of what it means to meet a need, or perhaps God’s character.

And if you think through this, isn’t this a great way to love God by loving our neighbors as ourselves?

What do you think? Comments?

I’d love to hear from you — please leave a reply below.  Thanks!

If you know someone who would be helped by reading this, you can email it to them or share using one of the social media links below.  Thank you!

If you would like to begin receive a weekly email whenever future posts are made, you can subscribe here.  You may unsubscribe at any time.

Please Leave a Reply

